Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 10-01-2010, 02:00 PM   #1 
bettauga

trying live plants

so i decided im going to slowly switch from plastic plants to real ones. i figured i would try something simple so i got some java moss and put it on my drift wood. the guy at the aquarium store told me that i would need algae eater so he sold me 2 very small algae eaters and he said that they wouldnt grow anymore and that if i didnt have them i would have a tank full of algae. Is this true or was he just trying to make a couple extra bucks off me?
bettauga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 02:18 PM   #2 
zoragen

Bull!

How big is your tank and what's in it? What type of light? and how long is it on?

Light & nutrient imbalance cause algae.

I'm not a plant expert - just have a few crypts & a sword - but he was just trying to sell you the fish.
zoragen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 02:26 PM   #3 
bettauga

its a 5.5 gal, its a 10 watt colormax fluorescent bulb, the light is on 11 hrs a day, there is only some java moss in the tank on a piece of drift wood, the whole tank now has a CT betta 2 ghost shrimp and 2 of these algae eaters and im pretty sure there was a stow away in the moss, it was in a shell and looked like a little crab but its probably a snail
Old 10-01-2010, 04:03 PM   #4 
Tomsk

He was just talking you out of your money
Do you know what type of fish you have got? He may well of said they wont grow any bigger just so you would get them (I hope they arent plecos).

If you would like some more easy to maintain live plants you could get an anubias,these are broad leaved slow growing and dont need much light.The roots need to stay above the substrate so you could tie this onto your driftwood too.

Tomsk
Tomsk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 04:06 PM   #5 
JKfish