Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-01-2010, 10:20 PM   #1 
dew
New Member
 
dew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fort worth
water conditioner not working!!!!!!!!!

I added seachem to 1 gallon of water I measured. I then tested for amonia three times 15 min. later and it was almost the same!! Please help!!!!!
dew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 09:41 AM   #2 
dew
New Member
 
dew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fort worth
could someone please help !!!
dew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 09:47 AM   #3 
Oldfishlady
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Are you referring to Prime dechloranator? What kind of testing products are you using? liquid reagent or strips?
Have you tested your source water for ammonia
What are your water pram numbers for-ammonia, nitrite, nitrate, pH
What are you testing for-are you having problems with a tank/fish or cycling?
Depending on your testing products sometime the ammonia binders change the ammonia to ammonium a safer form but the testing product can't tell the difference.
Oldfishlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 11:09 AM   #4 
dew
New Member
 
dew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fort worth
The tap water is 1 ppm. I use seachem prime and api liquid test kits. The lady at petsmart said that it can take 2 hour s for the water conditioner to remove ammonia. Is this trure? And I measure this in an uncycled 3 gallon with no fish yet. I thought prime works instantly.
dew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 12:02 PM   #5 
Oldfishlady
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Prime works on contact and your water should be safe to use after you add the prime-what you are seeing is ammonium and safe for fish but the nitrifying bacteria can still use it to cycle, usually after 24h you can get a true ammonia test of your water when using prime. Good thing you picked Prime for your dechlorinater since you have ammonia in your source water.
Also, you may want to do double dose with the Prime since you have 1ppm ammonia level in the tap water to start.
You can also go to their web-site for more information
Oldfishlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 02:35 PM   #6 
dew
New Member
 
dew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fort worth
Thank you so much! I was so counfused!
dew is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water Conditioner.. JosShavaughn Betta Fish Care 17 08-06-2010 05:48 PM
Does water conditioner INSTANTLY dechlorinates tap water? Dead Sunlight Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 4 07-16-2010 11:33 AM
Is water conditioner necessary? BettiBetta Betta Fish Care 5 07-01-2010 09:46 AM
prime water conditioner & water testing AliciaH Betta Fish Care 3 06-09-2010 09:26 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.