Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 10-14-2010, 10:28 PM   #1 
Arowan

Plants for my 5gal?

Just ordered the 5gallon hawkeye from walmart--the new heater for it already got here, lol. (By the way, price of the Hawkeye went up by $3.00)

Anyway, been working with the wonderful woman behind http://plantedaquariumscentral.com, but wanted to get some more opinions on my plant choices.

Be warned, I'm a total plant newbie!
Anyway, she recommended I get:
-a couple anubias, she said the nana petite and the var. nana narrow leaf would be best.
-couple dwarf lilies (they're so pretty!)
-couple java ferns (I like the lace ones)

I'm likely going to order some christmas moss, too.

But, all of these plants are slow growers--good, so I don't have to trim so much, but bad if they don't eat much fish waste...
Is there any recommendations on a fast growing plant (that doesn't shed) that'd fit in the Hawkeye, one that is easy to care for? And is my current selection of plants the right amount for the tank size?

Been doing a ton of research for the last month--my betta's currently in a 2.5gal critter carrier (heated), and I cannot wait to see what he'll think of his new tank once it's finished. I'm hoping to put in a couple ghost shrimp as well, since he's a pretty passive fishy. I've heard people can keep cories in a tank this size, but aren't 5gals too small for them? I'd love to grab a couple of those instead of shrimp, if it was possible...

Anyway, long post! Any and all advice is appreciated :)
Arowan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2010, 10:48 PM   #2 
Alex09

Generally speaking, cories (you need at least 3 or 4) and a betta would be overstocking a 5 gal tank so I wouldnt reccomend it :/

Fast growing plants: