Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 10-18-2010, 03:18 AM   #1 
Mjoyn91

Exclamation 76 degrees ferenheit too cold?

I just recently set up a 5 gallon tank for my new beta fish. I have a 25 watt heater that's automatically set to heat the water to 78 degrees. However, both thermometers ( a sticker and a suction cupped one) read 76 degrees. The heater's been going for two days now so its had plenty of time to get the proper temperature. I've read that bettas need 78-80 degree water. Is 76 close enough or should i return the damn heater?
Mjoyn91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 04:27 AM   #2 
Caliban

I'm new to this hobby, but from what I've read, bettas can tolerate as low as 72, though it's not ideal. My tank runs in the 76-78 degree range. The true test is how your fish behaves. If he's not moving a lot, then he may be too cold, and I believe if a fish seems hyperactive, never resting, they may be too hot. Again, I'm a newbie to this, but I've been nosing around the forums a bit. If someone more experienced tells you different, believe them not me.
Caliban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 08:02 AM   #3 
Jupiter

76 is fine. 78-80 is the ideal for bettas, but your betta will be fine with 76 degrees.
Jupiter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 12:34 PM   #4 
bettafish15

I keep my betta at 78-81, The lowest I ever go is 77, so I suppose your betta will be okay, just watch him for signs of coldness :)
bettafish15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 01:09 PM   #5 
Adastra