Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 10-25-2010, 11:51 AM   #1 
djflipside

Exclamation Browning Fin Tips

Hey guys,

Im a little worried about my Super Delta, its not as super as he was before. I have a split 5 gallon tank with a tetra 5-10gallon heater, and a 5-10 gallon tetra filter. He has started to develop curling on the bottom part of his fin as well as browning on the tips. I am also noticing his fins are developing horizontal lines, is this due to stress? . I have no clue what this means im pretty new at betta fish, and will use anyone's input.

Please help

here are some pics of him
Attached Images

djflipside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 11:59 AM   #2 
Oldfishlady

To understand-you have a 5g filtered/heated divided tank with 2 Bettas...correct...

How much and how often are the water changes and when was the last one, water temp, additives used, any live plants-any medication or treatment tried?

You take great pic by the way...nice and clear....
Oldfishlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 12:46 PM   #3 
djflipside

Yes it is a 5g tank with 2 betta fish. I have recently done a 20% water change 4 days ago, and added half the amount of aquarium salt needed for the 5g tank. I did not want to add the full amount because i do not want them to get use to it. The temperature is usually around 76-78 and I have no live plants 2 artificial, and 2 bridges for them to hide under.

Im not too sure what I am doing wrong. Should I do a full 100% water change?
Old 10-25-2010, 12:52 PM   #4 
Oldfishlady

It looks like ammonia burns to me

I would increase the water changes to 50% daily for 3-4 days and then on a regular basis make twice weekly 50% water changes to prevent issues with health and fins