Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 10-27-2010, 11:00 PM   #1 
dampsugar

just starting out with new aquarium....have a few questions

I just got a 10 gallon aquarium and put two live plants in it along with some gravel substrate.

I let it cycle for a day and then went and bought a crowntail betta. I have a few questions as I am new to the whole fishkeeping thing.

I read elsewhere online that bettas are hardy fish. And also that they do not like a lot of current in their tanks due to their fins getting caught and torn. I also read not to put many things with holes in them as that may also tear their fins.....oh and jagged or sharp things too.

Anyway, I put my new crowntail betta in the tank this afternoon and at first he was swimming around but now he is just kinda floating around. Its Midnight so the light is off on the tank. Is it normal behavior for a betta to just kinda float around?

Also, I have a filter on the tank.....Is this too much current for my betta?

Thanks again to anyone who can help me with this matter.
dampsugar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 11:05 PM   #2 
crowntail lover

Hello and Welcome..
Can you answer these questions please..?
Do you currently have a heater for the tank..?
Did you use water conditionar when you set up the tank...?
crowntail lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 11:10 PM   #3 
dampsugar

I have a water heater for the tank but I have not put it in yet as I need a surge protector because I have ran out of electrical sockets.

The water temperature is currently at 78 degrees though.

I did use water conditioner when I first set it up yesterday.
Old 10-27-2010, 11:15 PM   #4 
crowntail lover