Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-07-2010, 01:06 AM   #1 
lilbloofish
New Member
 
lilbloofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Questions

I am cycling my 10 gallon and i am going to make a sorority. I have had my current female betta for about 10 months and she has grown quite a lot. I have recently been to my local pet stores and seen the female bettas, they all look very very tiny. I was wondering if i should keep them in a temporary tank until they get bigger so my older female does not pick on them or kill them.?

Also i have been using Seachem Prime as a water conditioner and i tested my water after doing a 100% water change and the test shows that i have some ammonia in the tank (really light green). I am thinking that this is bad for my fish and am wondering what water conditioner will remove all ammonia?
lilbloofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 07:49 AM   #2 
Welsh
Member
 
Welsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: South Wales, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by lilbloofish View Post
I am cycling my 10 gallon and i am going to make a sorority. I have had my current female betta for about 10 months and she has grown quite a lot. I have recently been to my local pet stores and seen the female bettas, they all look very very tiny. I was wondering if i should keep them in a temporary tank until they get bigger so my older female does not pick on them or kill them.?

Also i have been using Seachem Prime as a water conditioner and i tested my water after doing a 100% water change and the test shows that i have some ammonia in the tank (really light green). I am thinking that this is bad for my fish and am wondering what water conditioner will remove all ammonia?
For a tank that small I wouldn't put more than maybe 3 females in there and that is pushing it. I learned the hard way, all my females were living together for nearly a 8 months and then just a few weeks ago I lost 5 in a week. I won't be starting another one, thats for sure lol.

Your cycling your tank and your getting ammonia? That's a good thing. When your tank is completed the cycle, you will get a reading of

Ammonia - 0ppm
Nitrite - 0ppm
Nitrate - 20ppm or lower

You shouldn't be doing water changes during the cycling process as it slows it down, after the tank is cycled you can then do a 30% water change.

Are you doing a fishless cycle?

If so then you really don't need to be adding the prime until you add the fish

Hope I helped some what
Welsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 10:19 AM   #3 
lilbloofish
New Member
 
lilbloofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Sorry i was not clear enough on the second question. I am talking about a 2-3 gallon tank when i do 100% water change with Seachem Prime. I still get an ammonia reading after. Sorry
lilbloofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 12:16 PM   #4 
Welsh
Member
 
Welsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: South Wales, UK
No its OK have you tested your tap water? the ammonia your getting could be coming from there.
Welsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 12:21 PM   #5 
TaylorW
Member
 
TaylorW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
I think sometimes test strips can read wrong? I've heard that liquid test kits work better.
TaylorW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 12:31 PM   #6 
lilbloofish
New Member
 
lilbloofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
I am using the API liquid test kit. I had the same problem with my other water conditioner, then i went and bought some Seachem because i read good things about it and i says it removes 1 ppm of ammonia. I have a lot of ammonia in my tap, like 1 ppm O.o
lilbloofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 12:44 PM   #7 
Welsh
Member
 
Welsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: South Wales, UK
Well that explains why your getting ammonia The reason you are still getting ammonia readings with prime is because this only treats the water for 24 hours. Is the tank cycled? if so then it should be able to remove the ammonia pretty quickly.
Welsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 12:51 PM   #8 
lilbloofish
New Member
 
lilbloofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
It is not cycled...... So what should i do? Is there a conditioner that removes all ammonia? Should i only be using prime if it is a cycled tank?
lilbloofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 01:21 PM   #9 
Welsh
Member
 
Welsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: South Wales, UK
In a well cycled tank you wouldn't have to keep doing the daily water changes, the ammonia will the convert to nitrites then nitrate and the biofilter will get rid of the ammonia.

I think thats right, someone else could correct me if I'm wrong

If you really want to get rid of the ammonia completely then you could use distilled water but that can get too pricey.
Welsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 01:36 PM   #10 
lilbloofish
New Member
 
lilbloofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
ok thanks
lilbloofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Few Questions.... xRacheLx Betta Fish Care 2 07-03-2009 07:42 AM
Very New and I Got Questions Loki0711 Betta Fish Care 4 07-02-2009 05:55 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.