Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 11-09-2010, 03:54 PM   #1 
willm

Proper way to perform a water change?

I'm new to this whole thing, so I'm wondering what the right way to do a water change is.
My betta fish has a pretty bad case of fish rot , so as part of treatment I'm doing a daily 100% water change. I want to stress him out as little as possible so he can heal better.
Here's how I change his water right now (he lives in a 1-gallon bowl):

I run the tap and adjust the temperature until it's as close as I can get it to the temp of his old water (I gauge this just by holding my finger under the tap and then putting it in his old water).
I pour out water steadily until he falls into another bowl (very small).
Then I pour out the rest of the water and thoroughly rinse the tank.
Then I add half a teaspoon of aquarium salt to the empty tank and fill it up halfway.
Then I rinse my hands under the water (I don't wash them with soap) and stir the water in the bowl to dissolve the salt.
Then I add water conditioner and medication.
Then I pour out as much water from the small bowl where my fish is as I can without him falling out.
Then I fill the tank up and put him in it.

Is there anything wrong with this process? He always seems very freaked out... but maybe this is unavoidable with 100% changes?

Any help would be appreciated!
willm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 04:24 PM   #2 
scootshoot

I run the tap and adjust the temperature until it's as close as I can get it to the temp of his old water (I gauge this just by holding my finger under the tap and then putting it in his old water).

---------------