Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-11-2010, 08:37 PM   #1 
danifacetastic
Member
 
danifacetastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: North Carolina.
What Do I Need For This Air Pump

Top Fin&#0174 Air Pump AIR 1000-8000 - Air Pumps & Accessories - Fish - PetSmart

Do I need to get tubing or what?

The pump that WAS in my tank (I'm getting a new tank this weekend) was a cylindrical tube that you slid airline tubing with an airstone on the end down into.

How does this one work?
danifacetastic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 08:42 PM   #2 
danifacetastic
Member
 
danifacetastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: North Carolina.
Or could my old air pump work with my new aquarium? How can I tell if it will be powerful enough? It came with my one gallon tanks.
danifacetastic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 09:11 PM   #3 
wallywestisthebest333
Member
 
wallywestisthebest333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Currently East Coast
Well you're gonna wanna look at the packaging. It should say up to 5 gallons, up to 15 gallons, or up to 30 gallons.
You'll want one that's up to 5. =]

What you're talking about sound like an under-gravel filter. :/ Those aren't all that great. in fact they're pretty much useless and can often cause more trouble than they're worth.

If you'd like a better filter I suggest getting a Tetra Whisper 3i filter! =]

A filter in anything less than 2 gallons is pretty much a waste of time because you can't cycle it anyway. So I wouldn't waste the money on a new air pump (if yours is broken) or a new filter. I'd just take out the under-gravel one and the gravel in your tank. Then I'd just keep the tank bare bottom and do the required every-other-day 100% changes that are required for 1 gallon tanks. =]

If you actually have something bigger than a 1 gallon (say a 2 gallon or up) then you can go ahead and pick up the tetra whisper filter, a new air pump (if yours is broken) some airline, a "T" valve (or something like it that lets you adjust airflow), and you'll be set to go! =]

If you need a picture of how to set up your air pump and tubing ect I've got one I can show you! =]
wallywestisthebest333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 10:07 PM   #4 
MrVampire181
Member
 
MrVampire181's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Colorado
Undergravels are excellent bio filters in larger tanks but useless in small tanks.
MrVampire181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 10:10 PM   #5 
danifacetastic
Member
 
danifacetastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: North Carolina.
My post probably didn't make since. I dont' have a filter in my tanks now...they're one gallon tanks. They game with an air pump. It doesn't say what it's good for so I'm HOPING it'll work in my new tank. I'm getting a 10 gallon tank this weekend to divide in 3 for bettas. My old air pump came with a cylindrical plastic tube that you could slide the airline tubing and the stone into so the airflow of bubbles was directed towards the top of the water...I'm wondering if this could work with my new tank or if I'll have to get a new air pump. I'm getting a filter for the tank too.
danifacetastic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 10:14 PM   #6 
MrVampire181
Member
 
MrVampire181's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Colorado
It'll work in the bigger tank, or at least is should. Also you DO have a filter. Did your tank come with a piece that goes on the bottom with slits and is connected to the cylindrical tube for the airline tubing?
MrVampire181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 10:50 PM   #7 
danifacetastic
Member
 
danifacetastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: North Carolina.
Yeah. I took that out today though when I cleaned the tank. I'm getting the new tank this weekend.
danifacetastic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 10:52 PM   #8 
MrVampire181
Member
 
MrVampire181's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Colorado
Then you had an undergravel filter. Basicly all you need to work an airpump is airline tubing and electricity.
MrVampire181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.