Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 11-12-2010, 06:22 AM   #1 
small fry

Long term betta illness?

Hello, I am relatively new to betta keeping. I still have my first and only betta, Tony. He seems to have some sort of finrot or something like that. Occasionally he gets 2 holes in his fins that grow back within a day. I just want to know whats wrong. Here are some pics
Name:  DSCN2685.jpg
Views: 151
Size:  32.8 KB
Name:  DSCN2688.jpg
Views: 142
Size:  24.9 KB
Name:  DSCN2700.jpg
Views: 183
Size:  43.8 KB
Name:  DSCN2706.jpg
Views: 136
Size:  23.3 KB

Housing
What size is your tank? 1.5 gallon
What temperature is your tank? 75-76*F
Does your tank have a filter? Yes.
Does your tank have an air stone or other type of aeration? No.
Is your tank heated? Yes.
What tank mates does your betta fish live with? n/a

Food
What type of food do you feed your betta fish? Flakes, occasionally freez dried bloodworms
How often do you feed your betta fish? O.nce to twice daily.

Maintenance

How often do you perform a water change? Twice a week.
What percentage of the water do you change when you perform a water change? Approx. 15 - 25%
What type of additives do you add to the water when you perform a water change? De-chlorinater, aquari-sol.

Water Parameters:
Have you tested your water? If so, what are the following parameters?

Ammonia: 0.0ppm
Nitrite: Unknown
Nitrate: Unknown
pH: 7.6
Hardness: 75
Alkalinity: Unknown

Symptoms and Treatment
How has your betta fish's appearance changed? About 3 months ago, yes.
How has your betta fish's behavior changed? No.
When did you start noticing the symptoms? About 3 months ago.
Have you started treating your fish? If so, how? Just WCs
Does your fish have any history of being ill? Unfortunately, YES (you wouldn't believe it)!
How old is your fish (approximately)? Maybe 1, don't really know.