Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 11-17-2010, 05:22 PM   #1 
uraqtkt19

My fish has swollen eyes and won't eat! help!

Here's the deal, I don't know a whole bunch about betta diseases or anything and my fish is sick. I was away from home and my mom forgot to feed him a couple of times. Could that have something to do with it? I'm quite concerned! What do I do? I'll try to post a picture, but I'm not really tech savvy. His eyes are swollen and he hasn't eaten for a while. His mouth also looks strange, like, disconnected kind of. Is it too late to do anything?
uraqtkt19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2010, 05:55 PM   #2 
Colibri

Could you please answer the following questions as descriptive as you can?

Housing
What size is your tank?
What temperature is your tank?
Does your tank have a filter?
Does your tank have an air stone or other type of aeration?
Is your tank heated?
What tank mates does your betta fish live with?

Food
What type of food do you feed your betta fish?
How often do you feed your betta fish?

Maintenance

How often do you perform a water change?
What percentage of the water do you change when you perform a water change?
What type of additives do you add to the water when you perform a water change?

Water Parameters:
Have you tested your water? If so, what are the following parameters?

Ammonia:
Nitrite:
Nitrate:
pH:
Hardness:
Alkalinity:

Symptoms and Treatment
How has your betta fish's appearance changed?
How has your betta fish's behavior changed?
When did you start noticing the symptoms?
Have you started treating your fish? If so, how?
Does your fish have any history of being ill?
How old is your fish (approximately)?
Colibri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2010, 10:17 PM   #3 
uraqtkt19

Housing
What size is your tank? Only 1/2 a gallon, I know, it's terrible