Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 11-18-2010, 09:48 PM   #1 
TaylorW

Unhappy Pretty sure it's Lymphocystis...

When I first got Victor, I thought he had Ich, so I treated him for that. But he's always had this lump on his head, and sometimes gets them on his face. I've been treating him with everything I could for the past 3 months, I've tried aquarium salt, epsom salt, QuickCure, Stress Coat, even stopped using tap water to eliminate that as a possible cause. Nothing has helped. They just get worse or go away at random, I guess just whenever his immune system tries to fight it.

He always acts happy and never acts sick, not even when he had "Ich", which I'm starting to suspect might have been the beginnings of Lymphocystis, which is sometimes mistaken for Ich.

Oldfishlady pointed me in the direction of this illness, and from watching his bumps, I'm starting to think that's what it is.

Anyone had any experience with this illness? Anything that I can do to boost his immune system? Is this illness painful for him or will effect his quality of life?

Thank you all so much in advance!!
TaylorW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2010, 10:58 PM   #2 
baylee767

I searched on google Lymphocystis and turns out it's usually not deadly and it's very rare. Unfortunatly there seems to be no cure except take the fish out and quarentine him for a few months and hope he gets better /= Hope that helped!
baylee767 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2010, 11:00 PM   #3 
TaylorW

I've done lots of research myself, but I was just curious if anyone on this site has ever had to deal with it... I also want to verify for sure that's what it is and I want to know what the best way to deal with it was :/

But thank you for trying to help!
Old 11-19-2010, 10:19 AM   #4 
TaylorW