Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 11-19-2010, 09:52 PM   #1 
HouseKitten

Unhappy Messed up BIG TIME while cycling tank

Hello! I am new to bettafish.com, and am new to fishkeeping in general... I have had my new tank for about 3 weeks, and it seems like everything you can do wrong, I have done =/ Ok so where to begin? Lets start w/ my setup:

-- 2.5 gal aqueon betta-bow tank, the one that comes with a divider, and 2 male bettas inside: Dragon and Hiro (Dragon is the one in my profile pic). I now realize this is too small for 2 bettas, and Dragon hasnt stopped flaring since i put him in (Hiro doesnt seem to care), so im gonna get another tank to separate them.

-- stock carbon filter installed

-- black gravel substrate that was said to have the beneficial bateria in it

-- a few plastic plants

-- pH around 7.4 - 7.6, and my water is relatively hard so i dont add any pH correct stuff cuz I know it will just bounce back up (Ive done some homework).

I didnt know you were supposed to cycle a tank BEFORE u add the fish, and bought the tank and the fish the same day (actually, I didnt even know there was such thing as cycling a tank @ the time I was buying the bettas and the tank).... and hence, I am cycling the tank w/ my boys inside.

About a week or 2 into having the tank, the water turned cloudy... at the time I didnt realize this was the bacterial bloom of the ammonia-eating bacteria, and did a 100% water change: took out the boys and rinsed the gravel, plants and tank with hot water (oops).

So its been a week since the 100% water change and i figured it was time to do a partial water change (the water did not get cloudy again) and check the water (with my new API master test kit).

The problem: my ammonia is at 2ppm (YIKES!?), nitrites and nitrates are at 0ppm...