Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 11-30-2010, 09:08 PM   #1 
Crazykat

Substrate for plants

Hi,
I'm completely new here and to the world of fish in general! I've been doing research for several months and I'm going to get a betta for Christmas. I want to make sure I do everything right. So, I've got my 2.5 gallon tank, filter, and heater, as well as the conditioner and some aquarium salts just in case of emergency. My question is, if at some point I want to plant the tank, do I need a special kind of substrate, or does the regular petstore gravel work? Sorry if the answer is completely obvious, but I have no idea how underwater plants work.
Thanks a lot!
Crazykat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 09:24 PM   #2 
Buddha

you can use normal gravel. however you will have to add root tablets to the plants every so often and use some sort of liquid plant food. If you ever plan on going with plants in the future i suggest you use a natural color of gravel. you must also consider lighting for plants. you can use a gravel called eco-complete or one of simular composition. if this is your first tank and first go at it, i wont try to discourage you from going with real plants, but its not as easy as you might think. get yourself some nice silk plants (no plastic cause its hard on betta fins) and learn from there. water changes and proper water perameters will be the first thing you need to wrap your head around. once you feel comfortable with that then do the research on live plants before you just buy em. Petco / Petsmart do not sell true aqautic plants and should be avoided (unless you find a "anubis nana, banana plant, moss ball) those are the only ones i have seen in petco/smart that were true aqautics
Buddha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 09:33 PM   #3 
nomoretickets