Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 12-10-2010, 11:21 PM   #1 
AliciaH

lighting for planted tank

I want to put florescent light in my aquarium, which is planted. It is a 10 gallon tank (divided for two bettas). Anyone have suggestions on what to use? I am also a beginner with the plants...
AliciaH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2010, 11:47 PM   #2 
wallywestisthebest333

What you want is a Compact Fluorescent bulb.

You're gonna want a Daylight (6,500 K) bulb with around 20-25 watts. This way you have about 2 watts per gallon. =]

What kind of planted tank do you have? =]
NPT?
High Tech?
Low Tech?

What plants do you have in there?

Can you post pictures? =] We love pictures! =]
wallywestisthebest333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 12:00 AM   #3 
Oldfishlady

For live plants on a 10gal tank you want at least 20watts and 6500-6700kelvin Cf bulb
Oldfishlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 12:21 AM   #4 
AliciaH

thanks

is this something that i can just screw into the incandescent fixture that came with the tank or do I need a new fixture?

Here are a couple pictures of each side of the tank... flourite substrate, anibus, water sprite, another floater I cannot recall the name of... I am probably forgetting something but maybe you can tell from the photos what all is in there. I also planted some top fin assorted bulbs yesterday, lol
Attached Images

Old 12-11-2010, 12:28 AM   #5 
wallywestisthebest333

A CFL bulb is the swirly bulb that most people use nowadays instead of the round bulbous ones. =] They're often called "Green" or "Eco-friendly".
They're made to screw into regular incandescent fixtures throughout the home. So yes it should screw into the incandescent socket in your tank. =]