Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Chat
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 12-14-2010, 02:42 PM   #1 
TaylorW

College Bettas

I've come to a startling realization: We need to do something to try to reach college students.

Being a college student myself, I've seen many terrible things happening to fish in my dorm. From too small containers and brown icy water, to some people literally forgetting that they have a fish in their dorm and the animal becomes neglected. Some people at my school actually pick up bettas at Walmart when they are bored, and then wonder why it dies a month later.

It also seems like some colleges are giving out bettas to students; I know at my school that the sororities gave bettas to their new pledges as a surprise gift, which is CLEARLY a bad idea. My one friend doesn't even want or care for her fish, just doesn't want to give it away or let me help her care for it because she doesn't want to "hurt her sorority sister's feelings."

Anyways, colleges are a big problem. I think we should try to find ways to spread the word about betta care around our college campuses. I know we have some college students and creative people in this forum, and I know we can come up with some great ways to get the word out.

So umm... anyone want to join me in trying to inform college students about fish?

I might make some flyers and tape them up everywhere after Christmas break... (Gotta get through finals!) Any other college students want to join me?
TaylorW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 02:53 PM   #2 
fleetfish

Yeah .... It is a huge issue that's come to light. I'm also at Uni but I don't live in a dorm, so it would be harder for me to do something. I'm sure I could pass some flyers and pamphlets out to people who live in the dorms. Even if we could spread care by word of mouth and direct people to this site it would be better than nothing.
fleetfish is online now   Reply With Quote