Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Breeding Betta Fish
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 12-16-2010, 12:26 PM   #1 
ReneeB

Fat Male CT is not tending the nest after breeding, should Iremove him?

This is my first time trying to raise Betta eggs (hopefully fry). I'm very glad this finally happened she was VERY egg bound. She looks sooo much better.

The "big moment" was early night. It was classic, both looked and helped put the eggs into the nest after each embrace. She was not eating them, however, HE looks very fat. I did see him spitting some eggs back into the nest.

I removed her after 3 or so hours and fed her. She was darting away from him. He has not done anything with the nest since. He is not hanging out under it, or blowing more bubbles. There are some eggs in the nest that I can see. I read he should hang out under it. It is a heated 1.5 gallon acrylic tank with acrylic lid. I have about 5 inches of water in it. I have the filter shut off and have left the light on since yesterday. The tank is square and he is usually hanging out on the opposite side from the nest. I had put a small square of bubble wrap in there and he added lots of bubbles to it. He swims around, not looking it at. Here is a photo of the nest and his belly.

His big belly was not there prior to being in the breeding tank. They had been in there for a day and a half. I have not fed him while he's been in there. This morning his belly is still big, and there are two poos at the bottom of the tank. They are an odd white and look to have eggs in it.

I'm not sure if I should remove him? I didn't know since he did eat some, would the fry have a better chance if he was not in there? If they fell would they still develop?

Thanks!

Last edited by ReneeB; 12-16-2010 at 12:34 PM.
ReneeB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2010, 12:46 PM   #2 
Ethan

Do you know how to artificial hatch? If not Here's how to: