Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-28-2010, 09:42 PM   #1 
soccerdog693
New Member
 
soccerdog693's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Michigan
Seeding my new betta tank

So I'm trying to cycle my new betta tank and I heard that you could speed up the process by "seeding" it with bacteria from a different tank. I have a friend with a tank of goldfish that I could get a small handful of bacteria from, but the guy at petco said that bacteria from a goldfish tank could make my betta sick. Is there any truth to this? Can I seed a betta tank with gravel from a goldfish tank?
soccerdog693 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 09:45 PM   #2 
Malvolti
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Mississauga, Canada
You should be able to, cycle bacteria are cycle bacteria as far as I know.

Something tells me the guy at petco wanted to sell you one of their bags of "Bio-Active" gravel...
Malvolti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 09:50 PM   #3 
soccerdog693
New Member
 
soccerdog693's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Michigan
Yeah, I take the petco people's advice with a grain of salt. I tend to lean more toward the advice of my marine bio professor (who suggested seeding)
soccerdog693 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 01:29 AM   #4 
baylee767
Member
 
baylee767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hawaii- Go Diamond head!
Please that guy is just a worker at a petstore lol not a fish expert.

So yeah you can seed it (= IDK why that guy at the store that that bacteria necessary to cycle a tank would be deadly...
baylee767 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 12:53 PM   #5 
Cravenne
Member
 
Cravenne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
As long as the tank you're getting your media from is healthy, there is no problem at all. It's a great way to do it...much easier.

I don't know what your friend has filter wise, but if they have two filters(which a lot of goldie people do) or are about to change out a pad, you could grab that, fit it into your existing filter and you've got an 'instant cycle'. Your tank is probably much smaller than your friends and the waste produced will definitely be a lot less.
Cravenne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 02:58 PM   #6 
Astro277
New Member
 
Astro277's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Yeah i see no reason why it would mess up your other tank unless the gold fish are sick.
Astro277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 05:16 PM   #7 
soccerdog693
New Member
 
soccerdog693's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Michigan
Thanks for the tips! Yeah, her goldfish definitely aren't sick - she's had them for about 6 years, in a roomy filtered aquarium. I'll see's changing her filter soon, if not I'll just grab some gravel and do frequent water changes for a bit.
soccerdog693 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about 'seeding' a tank vaygirl Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 7 01-17-2010 11:42 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.