Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 01-09-2011, 01:43 PM   #1 
FlareFlareFlare

Filter Issues?

Sorry this is a bit of a long one, but please stick with me here. And so you know, I'm trying my best to be a good fish owner but I'm still quite new at it.

I got a 2 gallon tank for Christmas last year and ended up getting a Betta just a few months after. This little 2 gallon tank was unfiltered and unheated. (The temperature was always at least 74, which wasn't much different from his pet store cup he was used to.) I made water changes just about everyday to make up for the lack of filter. My little guy was happy and mostly healthy, but I really wanted him to have heat and filtration.

I ended up buying a Tom Aquarium Products Mini Filter. It seems to have decent reviews so I thought it would be okay. As soon as I put it in my tank, he got extremely sick. It was a few hours before this was obvious so I quickly removed the filter when I discovered he wasn't feeling well. For almost 3 days he was on the brink of death(I'm talking barely breathing and laying at the bottom of the tank on his side), and somehow on the fourth day miraculously was alright. He got better but his water quality still wasn't what I wanted it to be.

I just assumed that the filter was just too new or something and he almost died from "new tank syndrome". I found a really amazing deal with a 10 gallon tank and filter not long after and decided I just wanted him in a bigger home all together. Unfortunately that didn't go as planned because the fish I used to cycle the tank are still alive and I'm pretty sure he would kill them. (didn't know about fishless cycling then). My 10 gallon tank is very stable and cycled. It's been running for several months with no problems.