Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 01-09-2011, 06:22 PM   #1 
Rbrtkln

Bo the Betta not feeling well

So my Betta, Bo, has not been normal for 4 or 5 days now. He was not eating and staying at the bottom of the tank. I'm not sure exactly what is wrong but we treated his water with sea salt the last three days and he was doing much better yesterday, swimming at the top and eating. Today, a little more lethargic. Yesterday I kept the filter off because I thought it might be hindering his ability to swim. Today, I had it on most of the day. Some specifics, A one gallon tank which I plan to switch to a 2.5 gallon. I have a heater set at 78 degrees.

My first question is does the filter, which is a carbon filter, reduce the effectiveness of the sea salt? Second, I'm thinking we give him some medicine that covers a wide variety of possible diseases. What is the best stuff and three, if we give him medicine, again, should we keep the filter off?

Thank you and hopefully Bo thanks you.
Rbrtkln is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 06:37 PM   #2 
Oldfishlady

Welcome to the forum and sorry your Betta is not well...have a few more questions....

In the 1g filtered tank-how much and how often are the water changes, and when was the last one, additives used, live plants, how long has he been in this tank, and how much and what kind of food before he stopped eating, how much sea salt did you use/add and is this the first time he has been sick...how long have you had him.
Oldfishlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 07:21 PM   #3 
Rbrtkln