Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 01-12-2011, 02:10 PM   #1 
mp0912

My Betta doesn't eat

Let me start by saying that I am completely new to the fish world! My two year old loves fish, so we bought her a fish tank for Christmas. I decided to go with a Betta since I have no experience in caring for fish and they seem to be somewhat hardy. We have the fish in 2.5 gallon aquarium with a light and filter. My concern is that the fish doesn't seem to be eating. When I place food in his tank, it just floats around him and eventually sinks to the ground. Once in the gravel, he doesn't seem to notice it at all. I have even watched the food hit him on its way down, but he seems oblivious. I tried both pellets and flakes. I wondered if something was wrong with his vision, but he always seems to notice me when I walk by the tank. He swims around and seems to be happy and active. No noticeable color changes in the fish. Any ideas or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!
mp0912 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 02:39 PM   #2 
scootshoot

I see you mentioned light and filter but no heater?

Do you at least know the temp of the water? At least get yourself a Thermometer for 2-3 bucks.....which will last you a lifetime
scootshoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 02:53 PM   #3 
mp0912

No I do not have a heater, but I do check the water temperature with a thermometer on a regular basis. The temperature stays around 78 degrees. We live in Florida so it stays pretty warm in our house. So far, the light seems to be supplying enough heat, unless I am wrong about the appropriate temp?
Old 01-12-2011, 03:15 PM   #4 
scootshoot