Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Compatibility
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 01-17-2011, 01:45 PM   #1 
DazzleKitty

Why did my ghost shrimp die?

Hey guys,

I have a fairly new tank that hasn't been going even a month yet. I have a heater in it that is set at 77-78 degrees (somewhere between those). I am thinking it is cycled pretty good. I'm no expert but my bettas are doing amazing in it. I have three in it with dividers. They are all really active, curious, and like their food.

I decided to try some ghost shrimp, since I heard they help keep the tank clean. Plus, they are just really cool. So I bought six as a trial.
I thought they were just cool! They really made the tank more fun. I bought them all on Saturday afternoon and found out today (Monday) they have all passed. I have NO idea why!

I heard they are tropical and like warm water. So I thought my temperature it is good for them. I heard they may prefer it slightly cooler but CAN survive in warmer water as they have been described as hardy.

The person at Petsmart (I know they are no experts, but I figured they'd know the basics) recommended I feed them shrimp pellets, as they sink and the ghost shrimp need sinking food. I got them that but also figured they have a small supply of some stray betta pellets that may go uneaten by my bettas.

I put in a piece of shrimp pellet in eat slot as I noticed some were small enough to somehow slip between the screens. Most of what I picked were big ones, though.

I know my bettas didn't bother them. They looked at them curiously but made no move to attack.

I woke up this morning to find them all dead at the bottom of the tank.

My mom came home today and surprised me with four MORE ghost shrimp. They are in the tank now but I am afraid they will meet their end soon. Does anyone know anything I may have done wrong?