Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 01-23-2011, 06:25 PM   #1 
johnstypoo

Exclamation Question about water quality. Please help! :)

I've had my betta, Rex, for a few months now. My past 2 bettas died of dropsy, so I've been extra careful with Rex. I'm a college student, so I recently went home for Christmas break and kind of slacked on Rex's water changes while at home. I changed his water every 2 weeks instead of every week. Anyway, I changed his water yesterday after about a week and 2 or 3 days. I tested his water before the change and saw that it was a little high in ammonia. I just now tested his water again and these were the results:

Ammonia- .25-.50 (somewhere in between, but closer to .50)
pH- 7.2
Alkalinity- 80
Hardness- 120
Nitrite- 0
Nitrate- 0

He's in a 5 gallon tank with a filter and heated to about 78-80 degrees (depending on whether the dorm room is hot or not). I put Stress Zyme in his water weekly along with salt and tap water conditioner with every change.

I think Rex may be a tail biter because when I leave him for a day and come back his tail looks shredded, but never brown or red at the tips. It seems to be growing back, but I know his water conditions probably aren't helping. Yesterday I noticed he has a bump on his head, almost like a pimple or a scab. He's dark purple and the bump blends in, almost like it's under the skin?

I know the ammonia is high, but what do I do? I know the ammonia and the pH go hand-in-hand, so how do I fix this problem?
Thanks!

Last edited by johnstypoo; 01-23-2011 at 06:33 PM.
johnstypoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 06:35 PM   #2 
Oldfishlady

Welcome to the forum.....have a few questions....

How big is the tank, filter, live plants, additive used, stocking or is this a Betta only tank, how long has it been set up....