Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 01-28-2011, 09:27 PM   #1 
maycausedeath

First Time Owner

Just a warning, this is really long!

This is my first time owning a Betta, or really any fish. I had those mosquito fish that everyone gets in fourth grade, but my mother swiped them as "cooking companions" once they turned into a huge colony. My only real experience with fish has been them, and they survive in a 10 gallon tank with a sponge filter and a tank cleaning about per month. They've lived through gatorade and grape juice, not to mention grapes and other strange foods from childhood and my mothers strange vegan concoctions. They're the fish that just get a pinch of food once a day and thrive. Our house is also kept at a brisk 60.

Anyway, I got a Betta yesterday, and I hope I'm doing this right. He's in a 2.5 gallon tank, with well rinsed gravel, that little zen looking rock tower/stack that seems to be very popular here, and a live java fern in a tiny little ceramic pot, which is surprisingly nice for being from petsmart. I made the trek to a not so local fish store to pick up a nice adjustable heater and an adjustable filter. I did a 100% water change before I put the gravel in and installed the heater and filter. The thermometer says it's 76 at the moment, quite a feat since our usually stable filter decided today would be a good day to deliver 40 degree water. I would like to have the tank cycled eventually, even though it's a bit small.