Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 02-04-2011, 09:30 PM   #1 
Pekemom

High pH...

Hi. I'm new to betta keeping but not fish keeping. After the two back-to- back hurricanes in SE Florida a few years ago, losing two tanks of fish during an eight day power outtage, was enough to make me quit for awhile. So I started up a few weeks ago, and am now running a 5 gal tank with a lone female crowntail. She's doing just great and the water is crystal clear. I do a 20 to 25% water change twice a week and I thought all was well. Today I broke down and purchased a fresh water test kit. Surprisingly, my pH was high, 7.6. I'm so adverse to doing anything to the tank that might change the clarity of the water or, really, the health of my fish. Must i use a pH lowering chemical, or will more frequent water changes do the trick?
Pekemom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 10:00 PM   #2 
turtle10

Your ph is absolutely fine :)
turtle10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 10:09 PM   #3 
Pekemom

Thanks, Turtle. So the acceptable pH range for bettas is...7.0 to 7.6-ish???
Old 02-04-2011, 10:16 PM   #4 
turtle10

Not sure exactly, but I do know they adjust very well to ph. I think Oldfishlady's water is hard at like 8.0 (correct me if wrong!), so you should be fine. I am not an experienced fish keeper like she is, but my water is 7.8 and my fish are very healthy and active.

I am pretty sure I read somewhere that the only thing hard water will do is crinkle their fins a bit.
Old 02-04-2011, 10:26 PM   #5 
Pekemom

Ahh, okay. thanks for your response. I'm a dog-lover, too (pekemom=pekingese mom to two) and your fur babes sound adorable! =))
Old 02-04-2011, 10:29 PM   #6 
turtle10