Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-12-2011, 02:37 PM   #1 
amber31190
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
does tank with no gravel need to cycle

it will have fake pants, but does it still need to cycle, i assume it might,but yall will know better than me.
amber31190 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2011, 02:45 PM   #2 
Crazykat
New Member
 
Crazykat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Yes, it will. Most of the bacteria that will keep your water parameters down low will be hanging out in your filter, not your gravel. Most people don't seem to cycle tanks smaller than 5 gallons as the water changes required to keep the tanks safe for the fish throw off the cycle. I hope that answers your questions.
Crazykat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2011, 02:51 PM   #3 
amber31190
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
thank you, i will cycle then, it is a 10 gallon
amber31190 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011, 04:21 AM   #4 
Thunderloon
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
nature will find a way

Cycling isn't so much a question of needing to cycle, more a question of WHEN it will cycle. It will cycle whether you want it to or not, whether you have a filter or rocks or plants or not.

Get a betta and a bowl and you'll get cloudy water at some point, that's the nitrogen cycle starting. The trick is to control the cycle when it happens.

My smallest bio-filter is my fav, it's six inches of lift pipe standing off the bottom with ceramic rings threaded over the thin air pipe stacked on top of the air stone. Very small and it aerates, transpires surface and supports the cycle.

Even just a sponge, and two inches of lift pipe stuck into it with a small stone is enough bio for a single betta, that's why I usually recommend the little whisper in-tank bubble filters with an pre-filter sponge.

Last edited by Thunderloon; 02-13-2011 at 04:21 AM. Reason: removed clarity
Thunderloon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011, 10:01 AM   #5 
amber31190
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
i dont have any fish in it yet. i want to do this "by mysef" as a project w/o my bf, could i put a snail into it to speed it up, sound funny but when his 125 cycle he put shrimp in there and they died, and left the bodies in there a while. sounds wild. i also might be explaing it wrong as well. also since this is a budget tank, i already got a tetra whisper. sorry but the lift pipe is the pipe the goes into the water, right.
amber31190 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011, 04:24 PM   #6 
Tomsk
Member
 
Tomsk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Gloucester,uk
Just cheat,stick your filter pads in your BF's tank for a couple of weeks and let them gain some bacteria there

Tomsk
Tomsk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011, 05:12 PM   #7 
amber31190
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
win-win
amber31190 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011, 05:29 PM   #8 
Tomsk
Member
 
Tomsk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Gloucester,uk
BTW I presume your original post meant fake plants and not fake pants

In the U.K pants means underwear and I have a vision of some small plastic underpants in a tank

Tomsk
Tomsk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011, 06:56 PM   #9 
amber31190
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
yea, my fish like some sexy underwear, lol yes plants..
amber31190 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011, 09:20 PM   #10 
Pekemom
Member
 
Pekemom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Central Florida, USA
Will a thin layer of gravel provide more surface area for the 'good bacteria' to grow?
Pekemom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing gravel new cycle? bettababe321 Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 10 07-06-2011 09:40 AM
Adding More Gravel during a cycle? New2Betas Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 3 12-31-2009 01:55 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.