Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 02-15-2011, 08:47 PM   #1 
ChibiSpeck

Question Another first time owner with questions

So, I bought a betta around 3 weeks ago and I've been keeping him in a .5 gallon bowl with no heater and no filter. I know his bowl should be at least 2 gallons and that he should have both of these things, but being a poor college student, I can't get out and get one currently. However, I do have plans to upgrade him to a bigger tank with a filter during spring break (which is about 3 weeks from now), but I'm worried he might not last that long in his current living conditions, even though he's very lively and bubblenesting a lot.

So with all of that in consideration, are there any recommendations or advice on what I can do to make him even happier and better his current living conditions until I can upgrade? I've had really bad luck with other types of fish in the past, and I'm worrying day and night about this little guy, even though he seems healthy.

Help please? (One last REALLY dumb question, can bettas live in tanks with lids? I know they have to take in oxygen from the surface and I wasn't sure if a lid on a tank was a good idea, but then again...I'm kind of new at this...)

Thanks!
ChibiSpeck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2011, 09:01 PM   #2 
DaMustang

Hi there, welcome! :D I would say make getting him into something larger a priority, even a cheap solution like small tupperware that's larger might be nicer for him even if it's not the fanciest thing out there. As for lids, I'm sure any store-bought lid would ventilate properly.