Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 02-17-2011, 12:49 AM   #1 
Diosa

Betta and uncycled tank questions

Right now my newly acquired betta is in a half gallon covered vase. Every other day I change his water with the same temperature water that has prime in it. I am getting him a 5 gallon heated and filtered tank in a few days.

Now my question is, should I put him in the uncycled tank or will he be all right in the vase till the new tank is cycled?

Also, how do I go about cycling a tank with and/or without fish, need to know how to do it both ways. I know for fishless cycling you need pure ammonia. Where would I get that? And do you need to do water changes and gravel cleaning while doing a fishless cycling? Or one with fish for that matter?

Sorry so many questions. I'm fairly new to fishkeeping. =/ Thanks for any help and replies!
Diosa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 10:32 AM   #2 
Oldfishlady

Welcome to the forum.....

You can safely cycle the 5gal filtered tank with the Betta provided that you are willing and able to make the needed water changes to keep the fish safe....

The fish in method-you don't have to have a water test kit on hand, however, it a good idea to have one......this just make cycling easier with less guess work-but you can also take your water to the pet shop for a free test every week or so.
In 5gal filtered fish in-I would make twice weekly water changes until the nitrogen cycle establishes (4-8weeks)...1-50% water only and 1-50% with substrate vacuuming