Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 02-17-2011, 07:19 PM   #1 
AquaBettaB

Help Please ! Last Resort !! Pics Included!

Hello everyone ! I've never posted on a forum before but this is my last resort. I don't know what else to do. I've purchased this particular male betta from PetSmart in August 2010. Since I'm a college student I didn't have time to set the tank up and let it cycle so I got 2 gallons of water from the PetSmarts fish system. I put him in a 1.5 gallon aquarium w/a mini power filter and he was highly active and healthy. In January 2011 I decided to upgrade his aquarium and also purchased another male betta to go in his old aquarium, so I purchased a 3 gallon aquarium. This time I forgot to get cycled water from PetSmarts fish system. When I got to school I went to walmart and purchased Spring 3 gallons of spring water filled up the 3 gallon aquarium connected the new filter and let it run for like 2 or 3 days. I placed my old betta in the new 3 gallon aquarium and the new betta in the old 1.5 gallon aquarium. My original betta that was now in the 3 gallon aquarium was doing fine for a week into January and then he just started swelling. I went to Wal-Mart which was 5 mins away from my college since the closest PetSmart was an hour away. Wal-Mart only had Melafix. I used Melafix and his swelling went down a little after using it but he was really weak when using Melafix. I researched and found out that Melafix was not safe for betta's (my mistake). I thought he had dropsy but he didn't pine cone and he was pooping out like yellow chunks that would stay attached to him for days. He eventually started swelling again and got this thing on his side that looks awful and its getting bigger. I didn't want to treat him with anymore meds so I went and asked my Biology Prof to come take a look at him. She told me that it looks like he had an