Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 02-21-2011, 05:36 AM   #1 
l n u n l

How should I care for an Elderly Betta ?

I've had my Betta fish for quite a long time. I think maybe somewhere near 3-4+ yrs. I've noticed that he's not as active anymore and he's often found asleep at the bottom. He does swim up for air or to nibble on food I give him but something tells me there's not much time left before he goes to swim in the River of Heaven. Is there anything I can do to make his remaining time comfortable and memorable so that he leaves us peacefully.
l n u n l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 06:07 AM   #2 
JaspersANGEL

Oh that is soo sad, I think it's everybody's goal to keep their Betta's alive that long.
Sorry I am no expert in elderly Betta's so I wouldn't know what to tell u except maybe to lower his water a bit so that it make's it easier for him to go up for air, and apart from that..just keep on what u are doing.
JaspersANGEL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 11:46 PM   #3 
l n u n l

What touches me the most is it seems he's hanging on and wanting to live longer. I guess I take care of my Betta fish very well that they don't wanna leave you and hanging on til they no longer can. He's very elderly to the point where it seems he's got arthritis in his rear fin cuz he no longer swims as gracefully as he did. He's rather swimming stiff and struggling to swim around. But even though he makes his efforts to go up for air, still got an appetite, and staying alive. It's like he doesn't wanna go.
Old 02-22-2011, 10:31 AM   #4 
Goomba3

I agree with JaspersAngel. Lower the water level or perhaps get a betta log or hammock so he can float at the top and not have to swim so far for air. I'm glad you could keep your betta alive for that long! You must take extremely good care of your fish.
Goomba3 is offline   Reply With Quote