Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 02-24-2011, 02:35 AM   #1 
KitKat422

Not eating, possibly sick?

Hey guys, so I'm completely new to this forum and I was wondering if you could help me out? I'm also pretty new to Bettas... I had them when I was little, but my parents mostly took care of them, because I was too young to to know what to do :P

I just got two new Betta fish on Monday... They're both girls and they live together, and I'm kind of worried about them.

So the first one is Squirt, and she's the littler one of the two, and she's getting bullied by Squiggles, the bigger one :( yesterday I actually saw a noticeable little wound on Squirt! It wasn't too bad, she wasn't freaking out or didn't seem like she was in pain. Squiggles is always following Squirt around, even chasing her sometimes, and I don't know if that's just a dominance thing, or what...

And on top of that, neither of them are eating... Squiggles hasn't eaten anything since I've gotten her, and Squirt ate the first day quite eagerly, but not anymore. But saying that, Squiggles definitely does look healthier than Squirt even though Squiggles hasn't eaten anything...

Right now Squirt is frantically swimming around the bowl and Squiggles isn't chasing her at all... only when Squirt gets a little close does Squiggles sort of "lunge" at her... Just kidding, now Squiggles is kind of chasing her...

Squirt looks really beat up, I don't know if its just because of Squiggles, or maybe she's sick, I've been reading about diseases they can get and I can't really tell if Squirt is just a little beat up, or if she's got some sort of skin disease? I don't know what really to call it...

And then I don't want to separate them, because once they get themselves sorted out, and I put them back together again, I know putting them back together will just be hell for Squirt...