Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Compatibility
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 02-25-2011, 02:49 PM   #1 
shellbelle1982

what should you put in first, the betta or the tankmates?

Hi, I would like some help as I'm a newbie to owning a betta fish. I would like to have a community tank with a betta fish.

I have brought a 48 litre aquarium with 6 plants and in the next week I can add some fish to it and I would like to know, do you add the betta fish first or do you put the other fish.

I was told by the shop that I can have tetras, mollies and plecto(sucker fish). I like to know which fish to buy first to start the aquarium off.

thanks

shellbelle1982
shellbelle1982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2011, 03:17 PM   #2 
Oldfishlady

Welcome to the forum.....

This would be a little over 12gal tank...correct.....the pleco would not be a good choice due to even the smallest would get too big and so would the mollies...the smallest tank for both would be 20gal or 75 liter tank...unless it was a common pleco then you would need at least 250g or bigger since they get about 2ft...

Lots of tetra species that could work that stay under 2in when grown- provided that you got enough for a proper school to start.

When stocking it is important to stock based on their full grown or adult size not the size you buy them...after all the plan is long term keeping....lol....you also have to stock based on their social needs, territory, chemistry, temp etc......

How do you plan to establish the nitrogen cycle...fishless or fish-in....since you plan on live plants you can safely cycle with the fish provided that you are willing and able to make the needed water changes

With a new setup-I would add the school of tetras first and you can use this as your QT too....wait 3 weeks and add the Betta if all is well with the Tetras...*remember the 3 week QT time starts over if the fish gets sick......