Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-28-2011, 07:24 PM   #1 
misamiania
New Member
 
misamiania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
5 gal WIP

So I just got my 5 gallon in! :D Like an hour ago. I didn't expect it till tomorrow so I didn't have time to go get gravel which annoys me but that's okay I'm going to the pet stores tomorrow.

I found a new one that I'll be checking out and they just opened a new PetSource nearby. Once again...

Not that I would get anything.... I'm just going for gravel and a few more iteams. I swear

Here we go~



I figured I might as well start it so I put those in there. An there's little bits of fish food floating to start the cycle. Tomorrow when I go into town I'll be getting shrimp to do the shrimp fishless cycle.
misamiania is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 08:09 PM   #2 
Lion Mom
Member
 
Lion Mom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: N.E. Wisconsin, U.S.A.
I have that tank and it works well. One word of caution, though - ditch the rock & the plants that came with it. The plants are too rough for a betta, IMO, and another poster lost one of her bettas when he got stuck in one of the smaller holes in the rock. :(
Lion Mom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 08:30 PM   #3 
scootshoot
Member
 
scootshoot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Since you don't have gravel yet, go sand! I was always a gravel person, no idea why but recently made the conversion to sand. Let's just say I will never go back to gravel ever again.
scootshoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 08:41 PM   #4 
misamiania
New Member
 
misamiania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Really? I had thought about sand and I think I do want it. Just not sure where to get sand for it. I think someone mentioned play sand? What do you suggest?

An oh noes! :( I really like the rock too. What if I filled it in with java moss or something? I really like it.

As for the plants, I've used plastiic plants in my other tank. But if I see silk plants I'll try and get those. I'm actually going to do a test in my empty 1.5 gal see how I can do with plants ^^
misamiania is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 10:19 PM   #5 
scootshoot
Member
 
scootshoot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Put the sand as main substrate and throw a couple gravel rocks atop to make it look like a beach. This is the bottom of my 14 gallon.

Main issue I had was the food that fell to the bottom. I have cats and the sinkers would lodge themselves in the crevices of my gravel. The cats could not get to em (believe me they tried) and the food would go uneaten. With the sand, any food that falls to the bottom is now being fully consumed. Loving it thus far.

Name:  016.jpg
Views: 173
Size:  126.1 KB
scootshoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 10:21 PM   #6 
misamiania
New Member
 
misamiania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
What sand do you suggest? cause I do like the look of sand but totally forgot about it till you mentioned anything.
misamiania is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 10:24 PM   #7 
scootshoot
Member
 
scootshoot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
I purchased mine from Petco, this type, http://www.petco.com/product/111911/...t=OnSiteSearch

Have to ask others if you plan on going the play sand route.
scootshoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 10:46 PM   #8 
Arzela
New Member
 
Arzela's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: KY
I use Caribsea Supernaturals sand in my tanks. I've used Tahitian Moon Sand (black) and then the Moonsand (white)...the only bad thing about the white moon sand is that it's superfine and it gets kicked up very easily during water changes. Or at least, more so than other sands. Looks great though.
Arzela is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 10:50 PM   #9 
toledoll
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
When doing water changes with sand will the vacuum suck it up?
toledoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 10:56 PM   #10 
scootshoot
Member
 
scootshoot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by toledoll View Post
When doing water changes with sand will the vacuum suck it up?
My sand setup is only going for a week. Yes I did notice fine sand being sucked up when I had my gravel siphon going the first time cleaning my substrate. But I was a newbie to the whole sand cleaning thing. Got better on my 2nd siphoning. Have to keep the siphon from touching the sand and place it at a height where you notice the vacuum is picking up debris only so you have to keep an eye as you go along adjusting the siphon up and down til you hit the sweet spot. Am sure I will get the technique mastered in future cleanings, lol. Can't just go in and dig like you would do with gravel
scootshoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.