Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 03-10-2011, 01:46 PM   #1 
luckyfrog444

Gill flare question

Hi! I'm not really sure that my question falls under Diseases or emergencies so I thought I'd try asking it here. I'm new to Bettas and I fell in love with them once I actually saw one out of the tiny sad cups they are kept in in stores. They have such personalities, much cooler fish than any of my previous fish varieties! I've done a ton of research about their care and everything about them. I've had different fish and aquatic frogs my entire life so aquariums are not new to me.

One of my Betta's Dare Devil, never really flares and shows off. I've tried showing him a mirror he never really flares at his betta pals, they get to see each other during the water changes. I always thought he was shy and he has just now started coming to see me when I visit his tank. I noticed about 2 weeks ago that his little pelvic fin, one of them is shorter than the other. Well today he was actually flaring at one of my other bettas when I put them together to visit (they're all always in separate cups) and I noticed one of his gill flares doesn't come out all the way. It's on the same side as his little short fin. So I was wondering if it's just a deformation or if there is something I could do that could fix it? Or has anyone heard of this happening?

Just wondering, he seems fine and happy otherwise.

Here's a pic when I had him in the gal tank after I brought him home. Not a super pic but he is camera shy. He is more blue without the bright light.

Housing
What size is your tank? 2 gal
What temperature is your tank? 77-79
Does your tank have a filter? no
Does your tank have an air stone or other type of aeration? no
Is your tank heated? Yes
What tank mates does your betta fish live with? None

Food