Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Chat
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 03-18-2011, 12:46 AM   #1 
CrowntailxKing

Suggested tank sizes

Hey all, I just joined up on this site and I am still a little new to things. As my profile says, I am pretty new to owning Betta fish, but I am already "hooked" on the fish (heh...fish hooking humans...if that isn't something!). Anyways, right now my setup is as follows: 2.5 gallon tank with two dividers (to make 3 separate rooms) for my 2 females and my male. Right now I have one female, Jenny, on the far left with a filter on her side. Lief, my male, is in the middle with a live plant and a Styrofoam cup cut in half so he has a little floating grotto (and yes, he has access to the surface for air). On the right side is Rapunzel, my newest addition to the family, with a mini heater buried under her side. The thermometer is on Jenny's side and reads a solid 80 degrees. I was wondering if that was alright to keep them divided like that, or if that was too small of a space for each of them. I made sure that their decorations did not crowd them too much, but Lief often gets caught in the Money-wort plant I got him (it doesnt seem to be doing him any harm...he still has plenty of room to swim around, but its when he is flaring at one of the females that he sometimes gets a little stuck). Anyways, I am hoping to get a halfmoon male soon and will move Lief into a 5 gallon tank (split in half) to share with the halfmoon. Any suggestions or comments?
CrowntailxKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2011, 01:12 AM   #2 
CrowntailxKing

Oh, also, I was wondering if I moved my male and removed the barriers, would the 2.5 gallon aquarium be too small for 5 females? The ones I have right now are pretty small.
Old 03-18-2011, 01:25 AM   #3 
Arashi Takamine