Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 03-21-2011, 05:38 PM   #1 
phoenix91

New to betta fish

I'm new to betta fish and totally new to fish ownership in general. I bought my tank (a 3 gallon) one today and got gravel and a heater and thermometer and water stuff and water test strips. I'm going to set up my tank tonight and check the water and all that good stuff and i figured i'd either get my fish tomorrow or the day after.

As a newbie is there anything specific i need to know before i get my fish?

I have food, pellets i believe and some live plants for my tank, i plan to get some kind of hiding place (smooth sided) for my fishy too. Also, i'm leaning towards a male betta instead of a female, i know they look different but are there any other differences which i should consider before buying?
phoenix91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 05:51 PM   #2 
Irish Dancing Man

Welcome to the forum! and the wonderful world of keeping fish.
You will have to make 50% water changes. For easy water changes you can buy a gravel filter, just make sure you don't suck up the fish water :p.
you want to have some fake plants and you have to get a good hiding place. Bettas LOVE to hide.
Irish Dancing Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 05:58 PM   #3 
LolaQuigs

You sound like you're on the right track with a good-sized tank and a heater! Did you get a filter? It's not necessary, but nice to have. In a filtered 3 gallon, you can do two 50% water changes a week. If it's unfiltered, you'll need to do a 50% or more change, and a 100% change every week.

Feed a good quality pellet (has meat sources listed as the first few ingredients). Generally feed 3-6 pellets per day, broken up into two feedings to help prevent bloat.