Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 03-24-2011, 03:13 PM   #1 
honeyybearr

Question New to fish!

Hi, my name is Ann and I am completely new to fish ownership. I was at the pet store yesterday and I saw the saddest looking little fish in the entire world and I couldn't leave him there, so here I am. I just want to make sure I'm giving him a good home and I figured that you all could make sure I was headed in the right direction.
Those "made for betta" tanks seemed so small to me so I bought a little (2.5 gallon) square glass aquarium, some gravel, fake plants, and a little reef looking decoration, all very colorful. Next to the made for betta tanks were little heaters and I read the box and it said that they were needed for betta's, I had never heard this before but I didn't want to bring the poor thing home and freeze it so I bought the little heater that was the appropriate size for my tank. I bought him pellets and when I fed it to him he looked like he was trying to chew but couldn't and spit them all back out. I went back to the pet store today and the woman gave me freeze dried blood worms (I have no idea if that's right) but the little guy seems to love them. He is very skittish when he's by himself in the tank and he seems pretty disoriented, darting around erratically stopping only occasionally to stare at his own reflection in the side of the glass tank. When I put my hand in there to fix a plant that floated to the top he seemed very friendly with me, he even swam through my fingers which I wasn't expecting. He doesn't seem aggressive at all. I named him Zero after the dog from The Nightmare Before Christmas, because they actually resemble each other quite a bit!
Here are some pictures (I hope they work)... Thank you in advance for your help!

honeyybearr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 03:30 PM   #2 
YoshesMom