Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Chat
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 03-25-2011, 08:21 AM   #1 
ScarletAngel209

Getting first Betta... Help!

Heya! I'm very new to this.

I'm getting my very first Betta either today or tomorrow. Bought a tank (+- 26 litres) last weekend, with a basic corner filter, gravel, bright plastic plant and a heater. Set it all up soon as i got home so it's been running for a week now. Added a bit of salt to the water as well as a water conditioner. Is there anything else anybody can recommend to make sure my new baby is going to be happy?

Any thoughts, recommendations or hints and tips are highly welcome!!

ScarletAngel209 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 11:30 AM   #2 
tokala

Sounds like you are on the right track! Good for you for getting prepared early. I was clueless when I got my first one and have thus wasted a lot of $ through trial/error and lack of research.
One thought based off your post- You may want to check with someone more experienced about the addition of salt. I know it is great to use for healing a sick/injured fish, however I am not entirely sure it is good for them to have all the time. I feel like I have read somewhere that it can cause liver (or maybe kidney?) damage if exposed too long. But, I may be totally wrong! Otherwise, sounds like you are doing everything right! PLEASE post picts when you get your new fish!!! :D Congrats!
tokala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 12:11 PM   #3 
Bettaluver4evr

Welcome to this wonderful forum and the brilliant hobby of keeping bettas. I must warn you, we are enablers here. :D
Sounds brilliant! But I agree with Tokala about the salt, I'd do a partial water change to get some of the salt out. Just scoop out some water and replace it with conditioned water, okay? Other than that, sounds really great!
Yes, yes, please post pictures! :D We love pics. ;)