Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Breeding Betta Fish
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 03-27-2011, 11:29 AM   #1 
ireland

Betta Fry Death Rate?

What is the death rate of fry? Last night the population was good, well over 50 and impossible to count, i woke up today and half the population was at the bottom of the tank. I used the turkey baster and sucked them out and checked, they're all dead. Is this normal or should i worry?

Though I have done my research before I plunge into attempting to breed my betta, this is my first time breeding so I'm a bit lost. To rule out water quality, my ammonia and Nitrite are zero, and the Nitrate is at 10. I feed them Vinegar Eel and Infusoria 3 times a day. To rule out that the apple cider vinegar killed them, i rinse the VE thoroughly. The fry are at the age of 6 days.

Could it be the water changes? The bottom of the tank is a bare bottom which makes the muck (not really sure what it is, maybe excrete from the breeding male and female) extremely visible, being the neat freak I am I thought it would benefit them if I vacuum it up with a turkey baster. I started taking out half a quart and then refilling it back with a whole quart. Yes I conditioned the water and allowed it to age as well, the water is of the same 6.5 pH. If water changes was the problem, then I'm a bit puzzled because I started doing water changes 3 days ago and had no ill effect on the fry, until this morning.

Please, this is my first time breeding/raising fry and I do not wish for anymore loss than what I already have, thank you

Last edited by ireland; 03-27-2011 at 11:35 AM.
ireland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 11:48 AM   #2 
Oldfishlady