Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Chat
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-20-2011, 12:55 AM   #1 
freakumDRESS
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
My fish handbook says...

It says i can put about 16 inches of fish in my ten gallon tank because of it's surface area! Not volume of water. Has anyone ever heard of this, and do you agree? Why? Okay, i multiply the length and width of my tank, and get that number. The author also says that tropical fish will need about 12 inches of space per inch of them, not including their tail fin. So, my ten gallon can fit about 16 inches. Whatcha say about that?
freakumDRESS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 12:57 AM   #2 
bettafish15
Member
 
bettafish15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: British Columbia, Canada
I think it's all fish poop.
bettafish15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 01:03 AM   #3 
freakumDRESS
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Ha, you never said why. =]
freakumDRESS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 01:04 AM   #4 
shinybetta
Member
 
shinybetta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Orange County, CA
Nope, I don't think it is true. Heck, it won't work unless you do tons of water changes. Ten gallons can really only hold about 8-9 inches of fish, depending on the requirements and waste production.
shinybetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 01:05 AM   #5 
bettafish15
Member
 
bettafish15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by shinybetta View Post
Nope, I don't think it is true. Heck, it won't work unless you do tons of water changes. Ten gallons can really only hold about 8-9 inches of fish, depending on the requirements and waste production.
Exactly, it doesn't take into account the bioload.
bettafish15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 01:13 AM   #6 
freakumDRESS
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
My fish handbook also says to take your filtration system into account, too.
freakumDRESS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 01:15 AM   #7 
JackisLost
Member
 
JackisLost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: SoCal
Sure you can put 16 fish in the 10 gallon tank, but that doesn't mean you can put just any fish in. I had an eheim filter (the filter itself holds more than a gallon of water, depending on model. I used the 2217) which is very efficient. I bet you can pull off a school of neon tetra easily. I done it before in a 10 gallon, water levels were fine.
JackisLost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 05:37 PM   #8 
freakumDRESS
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
I think the best way is to calculate the amount of ammonia each fish you have produces. If a fish eats 2 grams of food, will they give off that much ammonia?
freakumDRESS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 05:47 PM   #9 
bettafish15
Member
 
bettafish15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: British Columbia, Canada
I dont really think it can be calculated, they release ammonia all the time, no matter how much food it does or doesnt eat. @.@
bettafish15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 08:27 PM   #10 
freakumDRESS
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Really? how? Do fish sweat or something? Or maybe its the slime they have on their skin?
freakumDRESS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.