Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-01-2011, 03:47 PM   #1 
cadi731
New Member
 
cadi731's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NJ
Tetra Whisper Power Filter?

A while ago, I bought a 5 gallon aquarium kit thing that came with like, everything I'd need to set up a new home for my betta. Before that, I had another aquarium kit, a 10 gallon, and it was too big for the place I wanted to put it, and the weight it put on my bookcase kind of scared me. The bookcase is strong, and it held it just fine, but I was still worried. So I downgraded and bought a 5 gallon instead. It's a lot nicer to my bookcase than the 10 gallon.
But when I had the 10 gallon, the filter was WAY too strong, and he couldn't swim away from it. It was an Aqua-Tech 5-15 power filter, if I remember correctly.
Now I have a Tetra Whisper Power filter. This one. It's so quiet! He's swimming around in the tank, and the only problem he seems to have with it is that the flow out of the spout thing pushes him down a little. The filter takes up he corner it's in, and I put a flower decoration in front of it, so if he does go over there, maybe the flower thing will block his path to the intake area. My main concern with this is will he get pulled into it? Will it hurt him at all? I think he'll avoid it most of the time. Right now, he's just curious, because I put him in there about 10 minutes ago.
Is there anything I could do to make the outflow less strong, so it'll stop pushing him down? Will he be okay?
He seems to really like the tank more than his old one. He used to be in a 2.5 gallon. He seems to like the fin room. :)

So to sum it up, I want to know what you guys think about this filter, and if it's okay for a betta.

Please, and thank you!
cadi731 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 04:03 PM   #2 
peachesxo
Member
 
peachesxo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Canada
I use fake plants to baffle my filters, just elastic band them to the out-take
peachesxo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 04:05 PM   #3 
cadi731
New Member
 
cadi731's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NJ
That's what I did with the intake, but will that work with the outtake too, if it's above the water?
cadi731 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 04:08 PM   #4 
peachesxo
Member
 
peachesxo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Canada
yeah it should work, i am not too familliar with that filter but as long as you have the plant and the elastic it should..
my bio-wheel used to blow my fish around everywhere and now there isnt even a current really
peachesxo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 04:11 PM   #5 
cadi731
New Member
 
cadi731's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NJ
Okay, I'll buy some more plants then, when I have money to. For now, do you think he'd be fine?
cadi731 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 04:21 PM   #6 
iheartmybettas
Member
 
iheartmybettas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Texas
I have bought a Fluval intake sponge for all of my tanks that covers the intake. They are $2.99 at petsmart and petco. I don't ever have to worry about my bettas fins being sucked up and it doesn't look bad either. Others have use panty hose I believe.
iheartmybettas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 04:23 PM   #7 
cadi731
New Member
 
cadi731's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NJ
I saw those, but they won't work with the filter I have. The intake isn't a problem - It's the out flow.
cadi731 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 04:26 PM   #8 
iheartmybettas
Member
 
iheartmybettas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Texas
Oh! I just saw yours doesn't have the tube like mine. I have the smaller version.

Last edited by iheartmybettas; 04-01-2011 at 04:29 PM.
iheartmybettas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 04:42 PM   #9 
Here Fishy Fishy Fishy
Member
 
Here Fishy Fishy Fishy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: New England, USA
cadi731,

You can try to baffle the outflow with an aqaurium sponge, gently wedged into the outflow opening. You may want to try a couple different sponges, to see what works best. You want to be sure you are just breaking up the current, not stopping the flow of water.

Planting tall silk plants thickly near the outflow will also help buffer the current.
Here Fishy Fishy Fishy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 04:45 PM   #10 
Here Fishy Fishy Fishy
Member
 
Here Fishy Fishy Fishy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: New England, USA
You can also try to place the sponge under the outflow (tie it in place with some nylons), so the water flows from the filter outflow, through the sponge below, and gently into the tank.

You'll have to see what is going to work best in your situation. You could also call the manufacturer and see if they can reccomend something...
Here Fishy Fishy Fishy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
question about the Tetra Whisper 3i filter Luimeril Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 10 03-24-2011 01:48 AM
Tetra whisper filter dramaqueen Betta Fish Care 2 08-10-2010 08:05 PM
quick ?, tetra whisper 3i filter smallvle Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 2 02-19-2010 10:31 AM
Tetra Whisper Filter lavallin Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 6 12-30-2009 08:05 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.