Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 04-05-2011, 04:20 PM   #1 
Irishdancer

Car ride

Hi, I have another question. I'm a college student, and Summer break is coming up. I live a couple hours from home, and I'm nervous about taking my fish (two of them) on a car ride. Can anyone tell me how to transport them? I especially want to know if I should have them in their tanks, or in some other kind of containers.
Irishdancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 05:37 PM   #2 
Canuck Fins

I would bag them separately to transport them. That's how fish often come home from a pet store. I'm not sure how you deal with temperature for that amount of time. Keeping the bags in the dark during the move may also help keep the stress down for them.

I'm sure some of our more experience fish experts here will have more ideas. Good luck!
Canuck Fins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 07:01 PM   #3 
RosyFish

I moved from Minnesota to Indiana and I put my Betta, Alfred (O. Dalmation V) in a small plastic container, with a few air holes in the lid, then wrapped it in a dishtowel to keep it dark and warm, but left the top uncovered so that air could get in. He had no problem the whole 15+ hour drive.
RosyFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2011, 12:31 AM   #4 
PewPewPew

Considering you have two fish, this is what I suggest, from experience:

If your ride will be warm (warm enough for you to not have a coat on the ride/no ac/outside isnt too cold):
Put your boys in baggies. Yes, baggies, I know they came in cups, but those cups have lids, which have holes, which means....Water all over you if theres a bump! Haha.