Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 04-05-2011, 05:54 PM   #1 
scootshoot

AQ Salt vs Epsom Salt, What's the difference?

First off I am a Salt Newb (never purchased salt for fish), so just curious as I notice lots of Salt related topics daily. In my casual readings I come upon posters recommending these salts as a cure or maintenance routine.

So based on my readings, AQ salt is bought at the fish store and Epsom Salt is sold at the pharmacy, what's the general rule of thumb regarding the usage of these salt varieties? Why use one or the other when it relates to our betta's?

Thanks
scootshoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 10:23 PM   #2 
SmokeNLark

From my understanding (I am no salt-expert) AQ salt is used for common ailments. It kills of some fungus's, bacteria and other nasties. Some people use it to prevent disease because of these properties, others say using it this way will cause kidney disease and causes using it if your fish does get sick to be much less effective. I don't use it as a preventative for that reason. I have successfully used it for tailrot and fungus.

Epsom salt is not actually salt (NACl) but magnesium sulfate. It is used to treat humans for swelling and bruising. It is not studied very deeply for fish, so it is not at fish stores. I have only seen it recommended for fish with popeye. It pulls out the fluid causing the swelling to go down. It has worked and shows no ill effects to my knowledge. I have used it with success for popeye.
SmokeNLark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2011, 01:03 AM   #3 
Tisia

I believe epsom is also used as a laxative, for fish and humans
Tisia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2011, 01:08 AM   #4 
PewPewPew