Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-28-2011, 10:32 PM   #1 
briser
Member
 
briser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Nova Scotia
Ammonia spike in 5.5?

I just tested the water and the ammonia is between .25 and .50 ppm.. I am so confused, I thought my tank was cycled. I make weekly 50-60% water changes and I always take out uneaten food right away.. I also have two live plants, I thought they were supposed to help with ammonia?
briser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 10:38 PM   #2 
vaygirl
Member
 
vaygirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Middlesex County, NJ
Check the ammonia readings on your tap water? My tap water always reads at .25.
vaygirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 10:46 PM   #3 
briser
Member
 
briser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Nova Scotia
To compare them?
briser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 10:48 PM   #4 
lalalaura
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Live plants do help with ammonia. But 2 aren't enough to absorb a significant amount.

What are your readings for Nitrite and Nitrate?
lalalaura is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 10:51 PM   #5 
Canuck Fins
Member
 
Canuck Fins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Canada
Also how long had your tank been cycled?
Canuck Fins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 11:01 PM   #6 
briser
Member
 
briser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Nova Scotia
I'm not sure how long it has been cycled and I don't have a test kit for Nitrate and Nitrite. I was doing a fish-in cycle and only checking for ammonia. I've had the tank set up for 2 months.

I just tested my 3 gallon and 1.5 gallon.. The 3 gallon read .25 ppm and the 1.5 gallon read 0 ppm
briser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 11:16 PM   #7 
Canuck Fins
Member
 
Canuck Fins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Canada
It's hard to know if your tank is cycling if you aren't testing except for ammonia. In the cycle, the ammonia spikes and drops, followed by the nitrites spiking and dropping and finally, when it's cycled, the nitrates are visible/steady while the other two are at zero. When you are doing water changes to keep your fish safe, it's hard to know where you are at. How did you know it was cycled?
Canuck Fins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 11:18 PM   #8 
briser
Member
 
briser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Nova Scotia
I thought it was cycled because it read 0ppm for a long time for ammonia.
briser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 11:44 PM   #9 
Canuck Fins
Member
 
Canuck Fins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Canada
If the ammonia has spiked, I'd do a water change to bring that down which I expect you've done already. I'd look into getting a test kit to find out if you've got an active cycle or if this is just your tank still working on cycling.

Are you using a liquid test or strips? (The liquid will be more accurate than the strips.)
Canuck Fins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 11:46 PM   #10 
briser
Member
 
briser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Nova Scotia
Liquid. I will get the other tests tomorrow, and yes I did a 50% water change.
briser is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What if the Ammonia spike keeps going even after the Nitrite spike? c4talys7 Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 12 01-29-2011 10:34 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.