Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Compatibility
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 04-27-2011, 10:14 AM   #1 
Tigerfish1704

Question New Tank. Are these ok?

Hey guys!(and girls)

I have a new 10 gal tank. I am kind of new to this so I thought I would ask first before I made some hideous mistake. I was thinking about putting some tetras in there with a few mystery snails with my betta. Also, some some one suggested I put some Platys.(instead of the Tetras) Would this be ok? What would you do?
Tigerfish1704 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 11:41 AM   #2 
Canuck Fins

Are you planning to cycle the tank?

Tetras may nip the fins of the betta although some people do have them together. I believe tetras are schooling fish so you'd need 6 or more. I'm not sure how many fish you can stock in a 10G.

I'm sure someone else will have more ideas. :)
Canuck Fins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 02:21 PM   #3 
Tigerfish1704

I have heard of tetras nipping that is why I asked about the Platys. Do they nip?

To be completely honest I have heard everyone talking about cycling and, in theory, know what it is but I have never done it myself and I am not sure how to do so.

Last edited by Tigerfish1704; 04-27-2011 at 02:37 PM.
Old 04-27-2011, 03:01 PM   #4 
Canuck Fins

Not sure on platys...

Here's the short on cycling....