Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 05-03-2011, 06:46 PM   #1 
EndlessUnicorns

Good filter for divided 10 gallon?

Well, I'm a betta newbie and just recently set up a divided 10 gallon tank. It's the Biowheel LED kit, and seems to be really nice! The water is at 80 degrees and the bettas are apparently doing fine (though are still getting used to being so close! >:P Angry little moppets, they are!)

However, it came with a Penguin Biowheel 100 filter. Although I've heard it's really nice, I think it's too much for my fishies. :( Captain Brigham, who is on the side containing the filter, can hardly swim straight when it's on! He looks MUCH happier when it's off. I think I need something with a more gentle flow..(and preferably, quiet..)

Does anyone know of a good filter? I was considering purchasing a whisper filter...though I'm a bit skeptical. My betta was in a 5 gal tank with one. I left for 3 days, and when I returned half of the water had spilled onto the floor and ruined a lot of books. I don't know if it was the filter or not, but I'm a bit skeptical..:(

If anyone could help this newbie, I will be eternally thankfull!! :)
EndlessUnicorns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 07:51 PM   #2 
sjones

you may be able to adjust the flow of the filter by pulling up the intake valve (if there is one on that model) and baffling the filter-I did this for my filter-much better
check out this thread: http://www.bettafish.com/showthread....=filter+baffle

Last edited by sjones; 05-03-2011 at 07:53 PM.
sjones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 09:22 PM   #3 
TonyK