Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 05-05-2011, 02:05 AM   #1 
Andrewsmama

Help! Does my betta have fin rot?

Help! My betta, Blue, has been acting listless all day and this evening, I noticed on the edges of his tail fin something that looks like fin rot! He's been holding his fins close and flapping his gills a lot and all he does is go up to the surface to breathe and then back down to the bottom.

Can someone who knows things about fish have a look at my picture and tell me if it is fin rot? And what to do about it? Thanks!

Oh, and if this helps, I've had him a week. Last night, I moved him from a 1 gallon to a 5 gallon tank w/ a heater and filter. The temp is about 79, ph 7.2, Ammonia 0 (or maybe 0.25, I'm not sure), Nitrite and Nitrate both 0. I also have 2 mystery snails in the tank with him and they seem fine.

I'm pretty new to fish keeping and I don't want to kill him, so any help would be appreciated!
Attached Images

Andrewsmama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 07:20 AM   #2 
Harley

I'm no expert but it doesn't look like fin rot to me. Regardless of the picture you provided, the symptoms aren't typical of fin rot. Blue's fin tips are a bit black but is that a new thing? Harley has fin rot and is starting to rebuild his fins now. He just started exhibiting some of the same symptoms as your fish but I think its unrelated to fin rot. I don't know what it is yet. Hopefully someone else here does.
Harley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 07:34 AM   #3 
Canuck Fins

I don't know about finrot but he's definitely quite clamped up in that pic. To help us get an idea what might be causing this listlessness, can you answer these things about his living conditions when his behaviour changed? (If the 1G was unheated, he might be cold.)

Housing
What size is your tank?
What temperature is your tank?