Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 05-12-2011, 11:30 AM   #1 
JumperGirl117

I think he has Velvet?

He was my first Mother's Day present and the husband got him for me from Walmart. Not the best idea but I am trying to make it work with what I have. He actually gave me two a female and a male and put them in the same tank. They were fine for about 5 hours than at 3:30 in the morning when i woke up to feed our 8 week old son, I checked on her and saw her tail all bit up. She is in the smaller tank now. Yesterday I noticed that the males color is fading, it keeps getting lighter and lighter. Its moving from his head towards his tail, I am by no means a betta expert but I have had bettas before (4 years ago) and I remember the basics. I separated them and broke out my old betta stuff that I kept. Bashful (male) is alot calmer and he cant expand any of his fins, he can still get air by swimming up to the top and I dont think it is labored. the tank we have has a "fish guard" so they dont go down a tube and he has been resting on that until I started taking pictures of him.

I know I am lacking stuff but today he got payed for the first time since we got the fish and tonight we will go to an actual aquarium shop and petco to get other supplies.

Housing
What size is your tank? 3 Gallon
What temperature is your tank? Dont know
Does your tank have a filter? No
Does your tank have an air stone or other type of aeration? Yes
Is your tank heated? Yes
What tank mates does your betta fish live with? None

Food
What type of food do you feed your betta fish? Once a day
How often do you feed your betta fish? Tetra Min flakes

Maintenance

How often do you perform a water change? every day
What percentage of the water do you change when you perform a water change? 10%