Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-21-2011, 11:30 PM   #1 
inkrealm
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Pluto, North Carolina [ mountain region ]
could it already be cycled? 0-e

so I've been doing a fish-in cycle,
5 Gallon, filtered, three live plants: money wort, Anubias, and Oriental Swords ( same as Amazon I /think/ )
blue aquarium gravel
and treated tap. BettaSafe. 7 drops per gallon as told.
I did a change Wednesday night, left Thursday morning, came back Saturday night at like 10:00-10:30. it SHOULD have been time for another water change? 0-o
there was hardly any ammonia, not even 0.2 or anywhere near.
no nitrate, no nitrite 0-o
is this right? >.<;
I had done like a 100% I guess but still. shouldn't there have been SOME?
I was using STRIPS, because they were out of the Master Kit, so I changed it anyway almost 50% just in case, did like around40, then stopped cause he was getting a stress line and I've been away several days and he's been alone except a neighbor who came to feed him and clean out dead leave.s
I put him in the tank....
on like the 13th ( this month )
because he'd been a little ill from the cup, and because we had gotten something funny in the water, I've been doing a ton of 50's and basically 100's, is it just really really REALLY clean or is it possible it cycled? 0-o
I'll still be watching it and all, regardless,
but I just thought it was odd there wasn't anything as far as ammonia or nitrate or nitrite went DX
there's also like 5.5 PH ><
thanks ^-^
inkrealm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2011, 12:37 AM   #2 
cajunamy
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Southeast La
if your cycle were finished, you'd have some nitrate reading present. everything at 0 sounds like all those water changes took out all the ammonia and nitrite
cajunamy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2011, 12:39 AM   #3 
inkrealm
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Pluto, North Carolina [ mountain region ]
Cajunamy-
I'm just surprised it didn't gain any back while I was gone....
alright, thanks ^-^
inkrealm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2011, 01:31 AM   #4 
iamtetsuo
New Member
 
iamtetsuo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
In a planted tank these are correct readings. Aquatic plants absorb ammonia directly and much more efficiently than the bacteria. Your tank is ready for fish.

For more information on how the cycle-less planted tank set up works read this: http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/a...um-part-34859/
iamtetsuo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cycled or Walstad? HarleyRigid Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 6 01-14-2011 09:49 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.