Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 06-07-2011, 01:20 AM   #1 
ghostlilly

Question Do not know what this is please help

MY BOY GILBERT HAS THESE LONG FUZZY WHITE THINGS HANGING OFF THE VERY ENDS OF HIS 2 FINS UNDER HIS CHIN (DON'T KNOW WHAT THEY ARE CALLED)3 DAYS AGO HE HAD ICK BUT I TREATED WITH QUICK CURE AND IT WENT AWAY. THIS MORNING I SEEN THESE THINGS ON HIM CAN ANYONE PLEASE TELL ME WHAT THEY ARE AND HOW TO TREAT? I ALSO AM TREATING HIM WITH AQUARIUM SALT AT 1 TEASPOON PER GALLON,AND LIFEGUARD. HE IS NOT ACTING ANY DIFFERENT AND STILL SEEMS HAPPY BLOWING BUBBLES AND ALL. I AM NEW TO KEEPING FISH AND DO NOT HAVE A CAMERA TO TAKE PICS WITH SORRY.
Housing
What size is your tank? 3 GALLON
What temperature is your tank? 79 DEGREES
Does your tank have a filter? NO
Does your tank have an air stone or other type of aeration? YES BUT DON'T USE GILBERT HATES IT
Is your tank heated? YES
What tank mates does your betta fish live with? NONE

Food
What type of food do you feed your betta fish? TETRA BETTA MINI PELLETS
How often do you feed your betta fish? 2-3 3 TIMES A DAY

Maintenance

How often do you perform a water change? 2 TIMES A WEEK
What percentage of the water do you change when you perform a water change? 1 50% AND 1 100%
What type of additives do you add to the water when you perform a water change?BETTA SAFE WATER CONDITIONER AND JUNGLE CORRECT PH

Water Parameters:
Have you tested your water? If so, what are the following parameters?

Ammonia:0
Nitrite:0
Nitrate:0
pH:6.6TO 6.8
Hardness:75 SOFT
Alkalinity: 6.8 TO7.2

Symptoms and Treatment
How has your betta fish's appearance changed?LONG FUZZY WHITEISH THINGS HANGING OFF HIS 2 FINS UNDER CHIN
How has your betta fish's behavior changed? NONE
When did you start noticing the symptoms?THIS MORNING